8.11.13

A simple way to Stop Google from Using your Name and Picture in Ads

By
Stop Google from Using your Name and Picture in Ads
Few days ago Google has announced a new feature named "shared endorsements". Many people are understanding that Shared endorsement is a new service or app for the users but this is not like that. So let's know;
What is shared endorsements? And how it works?
Shared endorsement is a new terms and condition provided by the Google. According to this shared endorsements feature Google can use name and profile picture of your Google+ account to endorse its ads. In other words it can be said that if you have created your profile on Google+ then Google can use your profile name and picture in its ads.

The main purpose of this feature is to help friends and other peoples search cool stuff online, so it will use your Google+ activity (like: reviews, +1s, follows, and shares too) into the endorsements. And this is the reason that your profile name and picture may appear with the recommendation.

For instance: if you search for “South Indian restaurants in Kolkata” then you might see an ad for a nearby South Indian restaurant along with your friend’s suitable review. Or, during the use of Google play, you might see that other friend has +1’d a latest song or popular album in Google Play.

shared endorsements


Maybe you are thinking about your account’s privacy due to this feature, if yes…… then please don’t worry, your Google account’s privacy settings will be not affected because this option is enabled by default in Google account. But by any reason if you don't wish to show your name and picture in Ads then you can disable this option by following the below mentioned steps:

How to turn on or off shared endorsements feature
  • Firstly, log into your Google account.
  • Now go to Shared Endorsements setting page from here. (If you are not created Google+ profile then you will be asked here to upgrade your account.)
  • At the bottom of this page, you will see a check-box with text written as shown in below screenshot. To disable this setting just uncheck this box.
uncheck this box

  • Finally make a click on Save Button.
  • After clicking on save button a pop up will appear, so you have to click on Continue Button.


 That’s it! Now Google will not use your name and picture in Ads.

I hope you liked this article, please don’t forget to share your view with us. You can see some more interesting Google tips, latest updates, tips and tricks just by clicking here.

Related Article for you:
(5) Droplr – Easiest way to share files with an unique links

Don't Miss a thing! Enter your email address and get my next article delivered directly to you: